Saturday, March 31, 2012

JudysLilQuiltFix Review

Judy sent me a size small of her diapers to try out. Today I would like to tell you about it.  This diaper is an aplix diaper cover along with an insert.  This insert is a trifold that works perfectly with her diapers.

The diaper she sent me was super cute!  This diaper was also extremely soft!  When I opened up this diaper, I thought that it looked a little large to be a size small.  However, when I put it on my son, Dan, it fit perfectly!  This diaper is also very well made.  It kind of works like a BumGenius Flip diaper except the covers are sized. However, I found the insert to be much more absorbent than a Flip insert.  This insert includes Zorb in it, and I believe that is why.  I am obsessed with Zorb inserts!  They always seem to do the job!  She now uses cotton/hemp for her inserts, which I am sure work just as good, if not better!

I tried this diaper during the day, and it worked fabulously.  To be honest, I am a little scared to try it overnight with Daniel because it seems like not very many diapers work for him overnight.  BUT it did work perfectly fin for his 2 hour mid-day nap!!!  That always says a lot!  No leaks or blow outs with this diaper!  I love it!

Not only that, Judy is a very lovely person!  She was great to work with and gives amazing customer service.  She was very down to earth and was super sweet about it taking me a little while to write this up due to so many issues with Daniel, which most of you already know what was going on.  I really appreciated her kindness to the whole situation.

You can purchase one of her diapers here: for only $13.75 for a cover and an insert, $4.25 for just an insert, or $10 for a diaper cover!  You should totally check her out!

Friday, March 30, 2012

JayJ's Law...Call to Action NYers!

I am writing today to ask for everyone's help. Currently there is a proposed bill called JayJ's Law. This bill needs to become a law. First let me tell you a little bit about how this bill came to be.

A little boy named JJ was beaten by his father, Jeremy Bolvin in the Buffalo area. He was only 4 months at the time of the attack. JJ suffered 11 fractures; broken ribs, a broken arm, femur, and others. He now has a severe seizure disorder called Lennox-Gastaut Syndrome (the most severe kind of epilepsy) and continues to have seizures EVERY day. He will be 26 months old in a week, and he is still only at about an 8 month old's mentality. Last week, his custodians were very excited to show off his first....yes his first...drawing. 

This was the third offence Jeremy has had with child abuse. What was the sentence may you ask? Well...1-4 years...the current state maximum. That is it. He will be done with his time before JJ even has time to even start reconstructing his life. This bill will hopefully change that. 

JayJ's Law is all about increasing the sentencing for repeat child abuse offenders to 36 years. In my opinion, still not enough...but it is much better then 1-4 years....I am sure you can all agree. So, NYers...I ask you to help support this bill. Here is a flier that you can print out, share, do whatever you want with it...just please help share the word and help increase the time that these HORRIBLE people spend in jail!

This child is VERY near and dear to my heart and I hope that people will help out. I have never wished more now in this moment that I still lived in NY so I could do all these things. Unfortunately, I no longer live there, so this is why I need your help. Please don't let what happened to JJ happen to the next kid down the block. Thank you for everything you can do.

Here are some helpful links to read up on the subject...starting with the first time Jeremy was brought to custody:

Here is an update on how JJ is currently written by his caretaker:
 He has a LONG way to go, but he IS moving forward. Obviously, all the physical wounds have healed, and now that his siezures are better controlled, he can start moving forward developmentally. He is WAY behind. As a reference point, his "skill set" ranges from about 8 months and up. He will be 26 months old in about a week...he is in some ways completely normal, but you can really see the delays when he is around other children his age. 
He is still taking meds and on the special diet for the seizures. And he has multiple different therapists working with him on everything from a-z. 
In addition to the damage caused by the abuse, he has a sensory processing issue (this may have not been caused by the abuse) which causes him to behave in ways that You know how most autistic kids have trouble with touch, sound, and visual stimulation? Well, jay, is their opposite. He seeks these things out, which can manifest in strange ways, like rubbing body parts on things, as an example. We can't walk anywhere without him checking out each new thing we are walking on. You really don't realize how often flooring changes in a store till you have a kid who wants to press his face against every new texture he encounters...LOL 
I don't even notice the quirky stuff anymore, but others who don't know JayJ do.
At the end of most days I feel like we have taken one more step in the right direction. It is frustrating though to know that this could have been avoided.

I just HAVE to tell you!

I had an AMAZING thing happen today...and I just have to tell you about this!  Okay, so I won an apron and of course, I was not reading correctly and realized that it was for one of the Lola aprons at Pink Butterfly Aprons.  Now, those aprons are GREAT!!!  But they are just not for me...I am a very conservative person.  Here is a picture:

But here is what she allowed me to receive:

She also has other amazing aprons that you can see over at her shop...INCLUDING coordinated mommy and child ones or coordinated mommy and daddy ones!!!  How awesome is that!?!?!  

Make sure you go check her out.  She has truly amazing customer service and aprons!!!

I did not receive anything in return for this post.  I just wanted to post about an experience that I had.

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Tommee Tippee Sippy Cup Review & Giveaway

My son is at the age where he’s supposed to start learning how to drink out of a sippy cup and since  I have spent years working around children I knew exactly which brand I trusted the most for him, Tommee Tippee.  Tommee Tippee makes the best products that are closer to nature and it’s such a nice feeling to know that they are completely safe and gentle for your child.

For this review they sent me an Explora Truly Spill Proof Trainer Cup.  Since my son had never used a sippy cup I didn’t know how it would go over, but I filled it up with water and hoped he’d figure it out.  Since they have awesome handles on the sides perfect for little hands my son was able to take the cup right out of my hands and put it straight up to his mouth!  It took him a few minutes to figure out exactly how he was supposed to get the water out, but once he did, he drank like a pro!

I couldn’t believe how easily it was for him to figure it out.  I give most of the credit to the design of this cup.  Not only does it have the two handles on the sides, but the cup has the soft-flex all over it, just like around the spout so he could chew all over the cup and since it’s BPA free I didn’t have to worry!  So not only is it a great sippy cup, it’s a great teether!

I loved this cup, but I still wasn’t sure about the “100% spill and leak proof.”  After a few minutes my son definitely put this cup to the test by holding it upside down in his lap and then banging it on the table and finally throwing it across the room.  I can honestly say that it never once leaked and the hygiene cap for the spout protected the spout so it didn’t get dirty at all!  This is truly an amazing cup!

You can purchase your own Tommee Tippee cup at ToysRUs (  ) or WIN one here!  Just enter below:

Monday, March 26, 2012

Honey Bums Review and Giveaway

Today I am reviewing a Honey Bums OS AIO diaper.

This diaper is just everything I look for in a diaper.  Here is a little bit about what their listing says about their AIO's:
NykiBaby One Size diapers fit most babies and toddlers from birth to potty training! (approx. 8 to 40 lbs.)
All-In-One diapers are essentially the most convenient cloth diapers.  Just put on baby and go!  No folding of stuffing involved.  The two inserts are each only sewn in on one side for easy cleaning and quick drying.  Each insert is made of 1 layer of Zorb encased between 2 layers of bamboo fleece (70% bamboo, 30% organic cotton), plus there is an additional layer of bamboo fleece sewn into the shell.  This makes for 7 thirsty but very trim layers of absorbency!  
 Now for my review of this diaper:

This diaper is VERY soft on the inside.  I have always loved the way that bamboo feels.  I couldn't think of a better fabric to be next to my children's sensitive skin!  Not only that, bamboo is SO absorbent!  Pearl, the WAHM behind the diapers, has really out done herself on these diapers.  If you have ever used a Zorb/bamboo diaper before, you know what I am talking about.  None the less, it has two soakers of that!

Not only is it super absorbent, but it is also super adorable.  This print that she sent me is just so boyish!  I love it!!!!  You can't find very many "tough boy" prints and both me and my hubby just went ga ga over this diaper.  I was so excited to try it out that I almost forgot to prep! WHOOPS!!!

Soooo, when it was finally prepped, we had an interview for the local news that day.  So, what did I HAVE to do???  Well, I put the diaper on the news.  I just HAD to show off this ADORABLE tushy!!!  If you would like to see this diaper on the news, here ya go:

So, here I was thinking when I put it on before the news, "If this diaper leaks, it is NOT going to look good for cloth diapers."  BUT it didn't even come close.  He even wore it home afterwards.  After wearing it for about 2 1/2 hours, I changed him (Luke).  AND it wasn't even soaked!!!!  I was very impressed about this. This diaper also had an AMAZING fit on Luke.  With Luke being so tall but so skinny (38 inches tall and 30 lbs), this is usually a VERY difficult task, especially with a one sized diaper!

Then, I had to HURRY UP and rewash it..I HAD to see how it worked on my younger son.  And, of course, it was a wonderful fit yet again (he is 11 lbs now--thank goodness he is starting to gain weight again)!  And again, when I changed it after about 2 1/2 hours, there was still room left for more pee!  I am SO impressed that this is a perfect diaper for BOTH my boys!

Of course, what did I have to do after these tests???  The OVERNIGHT tests...ekkk.  And are you ready for my overnight results???  It lasted Luke (the 2 1/2 year old) ALL the way overnight!  It also worked with Daniel for his 6 hour stretch of sleep!!!!!

The last thing I want to tell you all about this diaper is how WELL it is made.  I would NEVER be able to do the sewing work that she does.  I mean this diaper is FLAWLESS and so detailed!!!!  And trust me, I really really really looked over it because I was so amazed by it...and could not even find one tiny little miss-stitch!!!

All in all, this is one of the higher end diapers I have ever tried before.  I am not even exaggerating.  DEFINITELY an A+++ diaper and a MUST have!

Would you like your chance to win one????  Well, enter the Rafflecopter below and you might just win one of the most fabulous diapers EVER!

Saturday, March 24, 2012

As promised....

I told you that I would update you all on the crafts that I was doing.  Well, here are a few that I finished this week.

This is a baby blanket that I made for Daniel.  If you would like to make a baby blanket like is how I made it.  It took a total of 3 days to finish.  Okay, so this will probably not be the BEST pattern ever because I just made it up when I decided to make a baby blanket for Dan.  And I don't think I am even close to being able to write it out, so I am just going to write it out as if I was talking to you lol.
Size H crochet hook
2 balls of Bernet Pipsqueck yarn

Chain 101
Rd1: double crochet into the 4th chain from hook.  Chain 1, skip a chain and double crochet again.  Repeat this through the whole round.
Rd2-as many rounds as you would like: chain three and double crochet into chain stitch.  Chain 1.  Repeat

Yes, that is my super simple blanket!  LOL.

As some of you already know, it is mine and hubby's anniversary today.  This is what I made him!  I got the kit at JoAnn's for $20.  It is cross-stitch.  This took me almost three weeks to make!  But, it got done JUST in time to give to hubby!

Booty Buns Giveaway Event

Booty Buns Giveaway Event

Welcome to the Go Green ♥ Give Charity Cloth Diaper Giveaway Event sponsored by Booty Buns Cloth Diapers! Over 175 blogs have teamed up to present this amazing cloth diaper giveaway hosted by Daily Mothering.

Here's your chance to win an entire stash of one-size cloth diapers!


This amazing cloth diaper prize pack includes:

20 Booty Buns One-Size Cloth Diapers

(these true one-size cloth diapers fit 3-45 lbs!)

20 matching flannel/terry cloth wipes

40 microfiber inserts

20 cotton flannel liners

Booty Buns Cloth Diaper Giveaway

(picture does not show inserts or liners also included)

First, a little about Booty Buns...

Booty Buns One-Size Cloth Diapers

In case you haven't heard about them, Booty Buns Cloth Diapers are incredible one-size cloth diapers that truly fit from birth to potty training! They feature a snap-down rise with 5 different snap settings (most one-size diapers only have 3!) and a waist with 10 regular snap settings plus 2 crossover snap settings. The diapers have hip snaps to prevent wing droop on smaller sizes. The incredible size range of this diaper fits from 3-45 lbs!

Booty Buns One-Size Cloth Diapers

Booty Buns Cloth Diapers are pocket diapers and each diaper includes 2 snap-on microfiber inserts that can be stuffed into the diaper or laid on top with the included cotton flannel liner against your child's skin. The diapers have a waterproof PUL outer and a soft suedecloth inner with duel gussets on the inner lining to ensure everything stays IN the diaper! Booty Buns One-Size Cloth Diapers come in an assortment of bright colors and each diaper includes a matching handmade flannel/terry wipe. You can find out more about the diapers at Booty Buns, or check out the detailed Booty Buns One-Size Cloth Diaper Review at Daily Mothering!

Booty Buns Cloth Diapers

Booty Buns is dedicated to encouraging others to "go green" and "give charity." Shannon, the owner of Booty Buns Cloth Diapers, leads by example. For every diaper that Booty Buns sells, she donates one Booty Buns Cloth Diaper to a child in need in a third-world country. Shannon hopes to donate a lifetime supply of cloth diapers {20 diapers} to every baby in need around the globe. You can join in this effort by purchasing your own set of Booty Buns Cloth Diapers and telling your friends about Booty Buns!

Make sure to stop by and follow Booty Buns via Facebook, Twitter and Blog for news and giveaways!

And now for the giveaway!!

Booty Buns Cloth Diaper Giveaway

ONE WINNER will receive this gigantic cloth diaper prize pack valued at $546!

And, the winner will get to select their choice of diaper colors!

This giveaway is open to U.S. and Canada.

Use the Rafflecopter form below to enter.

Sign in using your Facebook account OR your name and email address.

Click "Do It" for instructions on how to complete each entry.

There is no mandatory entry. Complete as many entries as you wish.

The more entries you submit, the better odds you have of winning!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 22, 2012

Mama's Best Nursing Bra Review and Giveaway

Today I am going to do a wonderful review of Mama's Best Nursing Bra.  First I would like to talk about the sponsors.  Breast is Best is the wonderful sponsor of this review and giveaway.  If you have ever visited this shop before, you know how easy it is to navigate.  Everything is put in it's place and I was able to go through and find exactly what I was looking for.  Not only that, Breast is Best has many different products available.  To list just a few:
  • Nursing Swimwear (honestly, I didn't even know they made these!  Awesome!)
  • Nursing Tops
  • Nursing PJs
  • Nursing covers
  • Nursing Bras
  • Cloth Diapers
  • Breast Pumps
  • AND more!
This is definitely a one stop place to get all of your baby and breastfeeding supplies!  

Now, I would like to talk about the Mama's Best Nursing Bra.

I received one of these bras in pink.  Now, I am NOT a small person, however, I am small in the girly area!  hehe.  Sooo, because these came in S,M, and L I was a little worried that these would not fit me.  Let's just put it this way, I am normally a 36A (which is a HARD bra size to find!)  Niki from Breast is Best decided that a size small would work the best for me.  Again, I was nervous!  Yes, my breasts are small, but my frame is NOT.  However, this bra fit me PERFECTLY!  And it is just so dang comfortable!  I also LOVE that it snaps up instead of having a little hook.  If you ask me, the hooks are a little hard to do one handed, however with these snaps, it is like, BAM, done!  I am even able to wear this to sleep without being uncomfortable. 

I have to say that this is honestly my FAVORITE nursing bra ever!  I will have to remember this next time around about these bras because I think I am going to have to purchase more (the ones I have a getting a little old and stretched out now).  

You can buy this bra at Breast is Best.  They are also offering a giveaway for one of my lucky followers to win a Mama's Best Nursing Bra!

Monday, March 19, 2012

Upa-lala Review and Giveaway

Today I am reviewing a most fabulous wet bag that was provided to me by Upa-lala.

This wet bag is one of the cutest wet bags I have ever seen.  This webag is a size medium.  I used this on long day trips.  It worked perfectly.  I didn't experience any leaking or anything like that.  I used this once when I was out of the house with two children for about 6 hours.  As you can imagine, that is a lot of diapers!  I was able to stuff about 12 diapers in there and it was FULL FULL.  AND I still didn't get any kind of wetness on the outside or in the zipper (which are common problems I have seen).

It is extremely durable also, which makes it great for sticking in a full diaper bag while it is full don't have to worry about it ripping or tearing.

The Upa-lala also has my FAVORITE feature that wet bags can have...a snapable (is that a word?  oh well...I'm using it lol) handle where you can unsnap it and secure it somewhere...which is great for attaching it to the co-sleeper for overnight changes!

And can we talk about the ADORABLE prints for a second.  I mean, common, shut the front door!!!!  These things are so cute!!!!!  I LOVE LOVE LOVE wet bags, almost as much as I love diapers, and these are definitely one of my favs.

So, not only are these adorable and how well they work, but the shipping is super fast.  And not only that, the owner has AMAZING customer service and is super sweet to work with!

My husband also loves this wet bag too.  He feels that the print is very gender neutral and could easily be used again if we have a girl down the road.

Would you like to win one...well, here is your chance!

Also you can use the coupon code EVALGAL to get 10% off from either my or websites.

Friday, March 16, 2012

My new fascinations

So, I have a new stress relief and I feel like I am doing so much better with everything now!  What is this may you ask?  Well, a little bit of everything.  I am now in DIY (do it yourself) mode.  I have ideas and patterns for almost everything you can think of now.  As many of you know, I sew. But now I also crochet, knit, and cross stitch right now.  I have all those projects going PLUS I found this AWESOME way to redo your kitchen chairs using ribbons!  I found that in JoAnns when I was just looking all over the place.  I can't wait to start posting pictures of all of my new projects once they get done!  Oh, and I also have found a wonderful DIY blog where I found a way to make pictures out of paint chips that you find in WalMart or any hardware store.

Now, my question for you is.....what kind of crafty things do you like to do?  Is there something you have been dying to try doing?

Thursday, March 15, 2012

1 Hour Break Review and Giveaway

Have you heard of 1 Hour Break yet?  If not, why not?  This is a great stress relief product that is all natural and vegetarian!!!  What mom or dad DOESN'T need stress relief!?!?  I couldn't try it out because of me nursing, however hubby was a great sport and tried it out for me.  We started off with 5 sprays (the recommended starting dosage) and then did 5 for when it didn't help yet.  After the 10 (it states that it may take 10-15 sprays) he started getting a lot of relief.  He was able to just sit and be okay with everything.  When we tried it out he was super stressed out because the kids were having a bad day and I just got back from the doctors after being told that I may have appendicitis (thank God I think they were wrong!).  He was getting so frustrated that he was starting to yell about every little thing.  I stopped him and asked him to try this out.  He was so happy that he was able to calm right down after the 10 sprays (and so was the rest of the family hehe).  He now carries one in his pocket with him everywhere he goes!  He loves that it is made of the all natural product, Kava (if you click on the word you can learn more about what Kava is!).

Here is some great information I was sent with my testers:
What is 1 Hour Break?
 1Hour Break is a safe, natural, and effective oral spray for stress, anxiety, or trouble sleeping.  1Hour Break is a synergy of 5 herbal extracts formulated by a board member of the American Herbal Product Association with over 30 years of experience in homeopathic remedies.  It's packaged in a pocket friendly 1/2 OZ spray bottle with up to 15 servings.  When taken during the day, 1Hour Break does not interfere with mental sharpness or clarity.  When taken for trouble sleeping, 1Hour Break calms overactive minds and promotes deep restful R.E.M. sleep.  1Hour Break is vegetarian, gluten free, kosher certified, and proudly made in the USA.
How do I use 1Hour Break?
 Take 10-15 sprays in your mouth and allow 5 seconds before swallowing.  Take 5-6 sprays at a time until you've reached your desired amount.  Take as needed, 2-3 times daily.
Where can I find it?
1Hour Break can be purchased online through or directly from

BUY TWO, GET ONE FREE. One miracle bottle of 1Hour Break currently sells on the market for $9.95 and as you can see, this is an excellent deal!
We are also offering a deal of save 42% when you buy 6: on our website.
And now, you get your chance to win your own three pack of 1Hour Break!!!

Monday, March 12, 2012

Fit Moms for Life Review and Giveaway

Today I am going to review the book Fit Moms for Life: How to Have Endless Energy to Outplay Your Kids by Dustin Maher.

Here is a little bit about the author that can be found on the back of the book:
"Speaker, blogger, author, boot camp owner, and personal trainer Dustin Maher has appeared almost 100 times on TV and has helped transform over 5,000 moms both in person and through his 28 workout DVDs.  He is the creator of Fit Moms for Life communities that are being formed around the world.  Dustin's mission is to empower and build up a community of one million moms by the end of 2015."
First of all, I want to say that the beginning of this book just got me and pulled me in.  Dustin writes about a mom of three kids whose husband is away from home a lot for work and how she just breaks down about thinking how she needs to start taking care of herself.  OMG, it was like he was talking straight to me.  As many of you know, I am the wife of a truck driver and barely EVER get a moment to myself.  Just a few minutes ago I was finishing my dinner at 10pm....the dinner I cooked for me and Lucas at 5pm.  Yes, my house is that hectic, especially in the evenings.  So, yeah Dustin got me hooked in just the first few sentences.  Then, right there on the second page is my FAVORITE sentence from the whole book!  He writes, "Here is my question for you: If you don't help yourself, who will?"  This is so true and this is when I knew, I had to really read this book good and try what he has to say.  He is right, so right...and almost every mom forgets to take care of themselves!

I really enjoy his way of incorporating his "five pillars of health"" which are mindset, nutrition, strength training, burst training, and environment.  These five things put together sound like they will really work and help out a lot with loosing weight and keep it off!  I don't want to go into too much detail about the five pillars because I want you all to read the book (seriously it's a great read) and start the program also.  But seriously, just starting going through the five pillars is very interesting and is opening my eyes a lot about things I have been doing wrong.

I also LOVED that he has testimonies in the book.  I love reading about other people's successes.  I think this motivates me even more to get up and just DO IT!  That is the hardest part for me is actually doing something I feel will work.  When I read about these other women who took it off and keep it off, it really helps me with that.

Another thing that got me motivated was the fitness test he has in the book.  When I did this, I was VERY surprised that I was actually on the high end of "below average" on everything except push-ups.  I couldn't do even one!  Ug!  Anyways, this gave me motivation because when I looked at the chart and looked at what I did, I knew I could SOOO go another 2 seconds on this and one more rep on that.  I can't wait to get started!  Hubby (whom is huge on fitness and goes to the gym 4 days a week), said that he could see me being in the above average range in about a month!  That gave me even more motivation!

So, all together this was a GREAT read and I totally recommend this book to everyone!  Seriously, go buy yours today!  You can also enter to win a copy below!

UPDATE: I have been now working this program for two weeks and I have lost SIX pounds!!  I feel wonderful and actually look forward to the next day now!!!!!  This program is AMAZING! I am so happy to get my old self back!

Monday, March 5, 2012

Babyville Boutique Review and Giveaway

Have you heard of Babyville Boutique yet?  If you haven't, you need to find out about them!  They are a relatively new company that brought baby diaper making necessities to our local JoAnn's Hobby Lobby and Hancocks.  They offer things like PUL, diaper making books and so on.

Babyville Boutique was more than generous in what they sent for review.  When I got this package, I was more than excited to get started!  I have never made anything with PUL before.  I have practiced stitching with some scraps I got, but never got up the courage to try actually using them.  Well, I am happy to say, Babyville Boutique takes all the questions out of making diapers and more!  Here is everything I was sent:

Yup, that is a lot of stuff.  I am going to do a separate little review for almost each thing and then a finished product for this review just because I believe this will help out a lot more when making your choice at JoAnn's or else where to pick up their products.

The first think I am going to start with is the Cloth Diapers Made Easy book.

This book truly DOES make cloth diapers easy!  This book includes patterns for sizes newborn, small, medium and large diapers.  It also includes VERY detailed step by step instructions with pictures on how to sew together your diapers.  AND for the people who have a hard time designing the diaper, there are also many different instructions on that including embroidering your diaper!  There are instructions for sewing EVERY kind of diaper you could think of!  Everywhere from a simple diaper cover, to an AIO, to a fitted diaper using a prefold, to a diaper that, frankly, I have never even heard of!  It is called the Sham Pocket Diaper.  Here is a picture from the book of it:

The next thing I am going to talk about is their Baby Essentials Made Easy book.

This book includes instructions on how to make MANY different baby stuff, as you can probably tell from the picture.  With this book you can learn how to make basically anything you could really need for your child!  Diaper bags, toys, quilts, wet bags, pail liners, how to tie dye prefolds, toys and SO SO SO much more!  I will definitely keep this book with me and start trying my hand on making some more of this stuff!  If I can make it, no reason to pay retail price for it!

Next up is their wonderful embellishments.  Babyville makes these adorable labels:

And also some adorable appliques!

These are both SUPER easy to use.  Just put a little bit of stitching around the embellishment and bam, your done. They also seem like they will look great even after washing a million times.  You can use them on PUL or also on outfits.  After I saw these, I had to go out and get more.  Here is a picture of a little pet project that I did with the dino appliques:

Whew, this is getting long already hehe.  Anyways...the rest of it is better to actually tell you about how it works putting it all together.  Some other things I received are snaps, FOE, hook and loop and PUL.

I have to admit, that I have not even opened these up yet.  I do not have snap pliers (yet) so I have not been able to test these out.  I look forward to being able to use them though in the future!

The FOE I was actually scared to use.  I heard that this stuff is super hard to use.  Well, it really isn't bad, especially with having worked with regular elastic before.  I actually found this MUCH faster and easier than using regular elastic and turning and top stitching.  I am glad I got over that fear and tried this!

The hook and loop that they sent me is amazing!  So much better than any I have ever bought before.  That is why I ended up making all of Dan's newborn fitted diapers without closures because the velcro was just NOT working.  I am LOVING this hook and loop!

I have been eyeing up Babyville's PUL for a while now at JoAnn's.  It is just so CUTE!  They offer solids and print PUL.  And actually, I was going to purchase these ones and the other one I really want is their dino print PUL!  It was actually a lot easier to work with then I thought and I am super glad that I got this opportunity.  

When you put everything together you might get something that looks like this (please note that this is my first ever diaper cover and it is not perfected just yet):

Thank you Babyville Boutique for making it so easy to make my son a diaper cover specifically for him!

I have also made a OS pocket diaper and with the scraps, I made a pair of shoes!!!

Friday, March 2, 2012


Whoa, did I just see the word free!?!?!  That is what really got me into this!  Freecycling, if you have not heard of it, is re-purposing other people's furniture that they would have just, ek, thrown into the garbage!  Hubby and I have been freecycling for a while, just we didn't even hear of freecycling until not too long ago.  Now, we are OBSESSED!  We found
 and signed up for email alerts for everything that goes up in our area.  However, most of our stuff we get from my hubby's job.  My hubby works as a mover and a lot of his clients are getting ready to just throw out stuff, so he brings it home and replaces our old stuff with it.  We have gotten some high quality pieces this way.  The rest of it came from freecycling online!  Want to see what we have gotten???  Well, here are a few pictures of things we have in our home.  Please note that hubby has been working way overtime, so don't mind the mess haha.  Also, some of the pieces do need a little bit of help that hubby has been trying to get to...but like I said, the overtime is killing his time available to fix everything (he worked 150 hours already this week!!!!!!!!).

 Entertainment Center AND T.V. from

 Corner Cabinet that we got from Hubby's job (re-purposed to be our diaper storing area)

Solid Oak Coffee table from hubby's job

Swing from a garage sale that they were getting ready to throw out and Corey's Aunt grabbed it 

Stackable washer and drier

Kitchen table and 4 bar stool chairs from

Not a great pic, but son was sleeping right there on the floor (yes why do kids need beds again.?.?.?) but Glider from a yard sale they were getting ready to throw out

Crib (turned into a toddler bed here) and dresser both from hubby's work...don't you love what kids decide to do with laundry baskets...put them on their stuffed horse's head....

Dresser from

Another dresser from

A dresser from a yard sale that they were about to throw away...MARBLE top!

Bedside table about to be put in the trash by a neighbor

Another bedside table from

BRAND NEW, was still in plastic brand new, queen size mattress and box spring from hubby's work

Solid oak end table from hubby's work

Solid oak bookshelf re-purposed for my sewing from hubby's work

Desk re-purposed for my sewing table from hubby's work

T.V. and end table from hubby's work

Elliptical from

Two more solid oak bookselves from hubby's work

Hubby's work table from

So, yeah...everything is wonderful and CHEAP in our house :-D