Thursday, July 26, 2012

Pink Seamstress Review and Giveaway

Ask anybody and they’ll tell you that my diaper stash consists of primarily one brand, Rumparooz.  I think they’re perfect and because of that I hold every other diaper we try to a very high standard.  While we have been very lucky and tested lots of different brands that have worked great for George, there has only been one brand that has worked as well as our Rumparooz-Pinkseamstress’s Sewing Roomdiapers.  The lady behind Pinkseamstress’s Sewing Room has an incredible talent and makes some of the very best cloth diapers I have ever tried.

For the review we were given a sized pocket diaper with my husband’s alma mater, VMI, embroidered on the tush. The first thing I noticed when I put the diaper on George was just how incredibly trim it was!  Most diapers look really bulky on my skinny boy, but not this one.  It looked like it was made to fit him personally!
Since it fit him so well I decided to let him try it out for a couple of hours.  I was very pleasantly surprised when I went to change him because there were no leaks!  This is a really rare occurrence in our house so I knew immediately we’d need to purchase some more diapers from Pinkseamstress’s Sewing Room!

Since the review we’ve purchased three more diapers-all custom embroidery.  We now have a Spiderman diaper, a Batman diaper and a Green Lantern diaper…hey, I figure if it gets my hubby changing diapers I’m all for it!

Not only did she send us an awesome diaper to review, but she sent along a size Medium pocket diaper with adorable owls all over it for one of you to win!  Just enter below and good luck :) 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 23, 2012

Little Bit Loo Creations Review and Giveaway

Today I have a fabulous fitted diaper to tell you about from Little Bit Loo Creations on Etsy.

Little Bit Loo Creations sells mostly fitted diapers with AI2s to come!  She also carries cloth wipes.  Her fitted diapers are either up-cycled or used with new fabric.  You can choose which one you would like.  She sent me one made with new fabric for the review.  She also sent a cloth wipe.  But, I have to admit, I really REALLY enjoyed the little thank you card that she included in the package.  That thank you card definitely made me smile!

Her fitted diapers are made with a snap in insert.  It also has the fold over to make the diaper fit for an extended period of time.  I think the fit was great on my 8 month old that weighs 15 lbs.  In the description it states that this diaper will fit approximately 14-35 pounds.  I believe it would fit for that long, and maybe even longer!  I tried it on my almost 3 year old just to find out (he weighs 40 lbs) and it fit him fine!  I will admit though that my 3 year old is extremely skinny and tall.  Just to show that to you even more...he fits in size 12 month shorts around the belly but needs the length of a 5T lol.  Soooo, adjustable pants is my friend!

Okay, back to the topic at hand.  The snap in soaker is great!  I love how soft it is!!!  And the absorbency of this diaper is fabulous.  When testing fitted diapers I leave Dan with no cover on to see how long it takes the outside to get wet (I usually don't use covers on fitteds when he is home anyways) and it lasted him a good 2 hours until it got wet on the outside.  That is GREAT for a fitted.  That doesn't mean that the diaper wouldn't hold anymore, that just means that the outside was starting to get wet.  If he had a cover on, it would have lasted longer.  This diaper would totally be a great diaper for a errand run or a nap.  I have not gotten the chance to try it overnight yet, but I am pretty sure that it would work overnight also!

Here is a little bit about the diaper taken from the fabulous maker herself!:
-fits 14 lbs up to aprox. 35 lbs. fold over rise for smaller babies (not all babies are the same, so it depends on your child's build on how it will fit)
-100% cotton knit shell with middle layer of fleece for absorbency (hybrid)
-Cotton/poly liner that is VERY soft against baby's skin 80% cotton 20% polyester 
-2 layer soaker that snaps into the cover and is attached at the top for quick drying 
-each soaker layer has 1 layer knit and 2 layers of organic bamboo fleece
-all together this diaper has 9 layers of absorbency 
-hidden elastic on sides and back to hold in messes
-made with gutterman thread to last through washings
-high quality plastic KAM snaps 
-serged around the soakers and the cover with white colored thread
-will need 4 or 5 washes to reach maximum absorbency 
And now, you have a chance to win a $15 credit for her shop!!!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Panda Baby Review and Giveaway

Today I am going to review a Panda Baby Night-time AI2 diaper.

This Panda Baby diaper is awesome!  It is so cute and perfect for the time period that I received it.  I got this just before July 4th and was able to try it out on the 2nd and then get it rewashed and ready for the 4th of July!  I was so excited about that!

The print of this diaper is so original and cute!  Daddy LOVES this diaper!  Here is what it is made out of:
This diaper is a nighttime AI2 called Panda Dreamer.  It features an outer layer of PUL in red, white, and blue marble.  Hidden layer of bamboo fleece, with an extra layer of bamboo fleece in the wet zone.  Inner layer of microfleece.  Insert is made of 4 layers of heavy bamboo fleece.  There is a doubler that is one layer microfleece and one layer bamboo velour.

This AI2 diaper is extremely easy to use.  You do not have to snap in anything!  Everything lays right in the diaper and it stays there.  This makes diaper changes with an AI2 even more Daddy friendly!

As you can probably tell, this is a super absorbent diaper!  When I first tried it out, I tried it for the purpose it was made, overnight.  I was a little bit leery because usually I try a diaper during the day before I start trying it overnight, but seeing that it was made for nighttime, I thought I would just go for the gold!  I have to say that I was very impressed with this diaper.  My now 8 month old sleeps from 7pm to about 8am the diapers he uses needs to be AMAZING diapers.  And this diaper was up for the challenge!  Not only that, it was up for the challenge with out being amazingly bulky.  Most of Dan's overnight diapers are so bulky that he can barely even roll over in them...but not this diaper!  I have to say that I am very pleasantly surprised with the Panda Baby Panda Dreamer diaper!!!!

As for the fit, it couldn't be better.  Like I said already, it is not too bulky.  Also, it just curves right to Dan to get the best fit, which is what is needed, especially for overnights!

And thanks to Jessica, the owner of Panda Baby, you can also get the change to win your own custom diaper from Panda Baby!!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 16, 2012

Organic Caboose Review and Giveaway

Today I want to tell you all a little bit about Organic Caboose.

Organic Caboose carries a few different organic products such as fitted diapers, wool covers, sleep sacks, and blankets.  There is many different things that you can find there that is all organic.  Organic items are great for your children because, well, they are organic and there is no processing or anything done to the fabrics that is used.  Here is what they have to say about themselves on their About Us page:

Company HistoryIn 2004, after the birth of her son, a young mother soon realized that the love she had for her son was too great to create a daily leave of absence from her home to the local hospital where she worked in the CCU.  
 She had a vision of creating an organic diapering line that would promote "the health of our future."  One problem arose, --she didn't know how to sew!  She enlisted the expertise of her mother and quickly they were off sewing side by side.  
As the business grew, she found more women interested in sewing the products from their homes.  So, she cut the fabrics and delivered the cut pieces to the local women.  Upon completion, the products were inspected for quality and shipped to eager new moms.
The product line has diversified upon customer requests through the years, and the Organic Caboose® line continues to grow and evolve.  Organic Caboose today upholds the legacy of the highest quality organic and eco-friendly products for baby and parents.  
All Organic Caboose products are manufactured in the U.S., creating employment for American families.  Organic Caboose believes in supporting each other locally.  "Supporting one another creates a domino effect that can resound around the world.  It's difficult to help others if we aren't well enough to help ourselves."

Our Products
Organic Caboose® brand is committed to premium organic, all-natural and eco-friendly products for the Natural Family.  We strive to attain the highest quality in workmanship and customer service. 
Wherever possible we offer products which support local artisans and communities.  All Organic Caboose® products are 100% sewn in the USA.  A few complementary products are imported.
All Organic Caboose products are cruelty-free.  We do not test our products on animals.
Organic Caboose respects the world in which we live.  Organic living helps to protect and sustain our world by protecting our drinking water, our health, wildlife, sea life and plant life.  We desire to surpass all standards and achieve a safer, healthier future through organic living.  Organic... the soft and pure choice for every family, naturally.
After reading this, I know that I was even more interested in Organic Caboose.  After contacting them to do a review and giveaway with Nicki, The Eval Gal, they decided to do a review and giveaway of an Organic Fleece Sleep Sack.

My first impression of this sleep sack was that it was SOOO soft!!!  I was so excited to try this on my son.  They sent me a size 6/9 month sleep sack.  When I opened it all they way I realized how large it was.  This would totally fit for a while with my son.  He is a bit smaller than normal babies, even though he is 8 months, you can see it he has a lot of room to grow in it, which is wonderful!  

Another thing that I loved about this is that the zipper actually zips down instead of up like all those other sleep sacks that you can get at WalMart and so on.  This keeps the zipper away from your babies face and doesn't actually scratch you baby up or anything like that.  

I also love that this keeps your babies arms uncovered.  Babies like to move around with their hands and always grabbing for everything.  When their hands are tied up, a lot of babies get upset which is why before this sleep sack I only used crocheted sleep sacks because those too can be arm free.  Definitely an awesome thing to have around the house!!!  Check it out!

Also, thanks to to Organic Caboose, you get a chance to WIN one too!!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, July 15, 2012

Update with a little Ugggggggg

So, I will take you back to Sunday of last week first.  It was a HOT day here....105 to be exact.  I decided to bring my kids over to my husband's aunt's house for a day in her pool.  Bad idea...starting on Sunday, Daniel started breathing funny.  I posted videos on the blog's facebook page to try to get answers from anyone else that may have had any idea about what was going on.  Well, I got a little bit of everything as a response.  So, I decided to just call the doctor.  When I called to make him a sick appointment, they asked when I would like him to be seen.  I told them that whenever they had an appointment free would be great, the sooner the better.  I was thinking of nap time, not that this might be a critical problem.  I figured I was being overprotective mommy bringing her child in for no reason and spending WAY too much money on nothing.  Well, they asked what the problem is and they said, "Just come right now, we will get him in as soon as you walk in the door."

I knew we were in for another bad news day...which is even worse now that we don't have insurance.  Yep, that is right...Dan, Luke and I do not have health insurance  right now.  Why might you ask?  Well, the insurance company that we had decided that because I had a baby, Dan was in the hospital and diagnosed with two different medical conditions already, and because of Luke's constant speech therapy (all which happened in one year) that they would raise my premium by almost $200 a month!  Yes, how horrible is that...we couldn't afford it, hubby doesn't have open enrollment until January (not that that would help much because that is about the same price as the new premium) so we are trying to get new insurance.  Cross your fingers and pray that it goes through soon!

So, anyways...we don't have insurance and we walk in the door, they take us straight back and did an exam, chest x-ray, and some blood work.  The whole time they were running tests...I just saw dollar signs because I still kind of thought I was just being paranoid.  Well, turns out, I was not.  He was having an asthma attack (or what they think is an asthma attack...he has not been diagnosed completely and will not be going to see the baby lung doctor until we have insurance and his doctor says that it is time to go through all the tests of that--he is WAY too young to do the lung capacity thing right now).  So, they gave him a breathing treatment and a prescription for an inhaler.  

Well, at least now I am not worrying about the money as much...just know we are going to have to continue to tighten our belts until all this medical stuff is paid off (we still don't have his hospital bills paid off from his 3 night stay).  

I went through all the emotions I have been going through since my son was born it seems...we just keep getting bad news after bad news.  I started out with the crying, then I blamed myself, then I researched like crazy, cried a little more, than accepted it.  So, I am ready!  Bring it! I can totally do this!  There are so many worse things it could have been I am thanking the Lord that it is only *maybe* asthma!

"I can do anything through Him who gives me strength"
Philippians 4:13

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Soda Stream Review and Giveaway *US ONLY!*

Today I am going to tell you about Soda Stream.

I was provided a Genesis model with a BUNCH of different kinds of soda to try out.  I was actually VERY surprised when I opened the box and found all the goodies inside.

Everything I received for review
Everything that comes with the soda maker: the maker, the carbonator, two bottles, and two caps
I am going to admit, that I have been reading Soda Stream reviews for a while now, and I have been wondering if it was worth the upfront cost.  Now that I have waited over a year and am finally now using it, I am KICKING myself in the head for not getting one sooner!!!!  Most everyone on this blog is all about being more environmentally friendly, right?  Well, talk about being environmentally friendly!!!!  Not only are the bottles that you get with the starter kit reusable, the Soda Stream does not use any kind of power!!!  That is right, no electricity or batteries needed!  Oh, I love being environmentally friendly!  Also, this is GREAT for the pocketbook.  Let me break it down for you.  One bottle of mix makes 12 liters, which is 6 two litters.  To buy that in bottles it would cost you $9 (using the average amount of $1.50 for a 2 liter of soda here).  To buy that in a Soda Stream mix, it would cost you $4.99!  Having a big party?  Get friends to save up 2 liter bottles for you.  Use the Soda Stream and 3-4 bottles of mix (and having some of that mix left over!!!) to make soda for the party!  Watch your savings pile up as you use your Soda Stream more and more!

Water being carbonized

Water with soda mix in it
Not only is the Soda Stream all that, it is even more!  I will tell you that I seriously enjoyed making soda using this!  I was giggling so much on the phone with my Grandma when I was trying to make my first batch. Not only that, it is SIMPLE.  All you do is fill the bottle up with chilled water to the fill line, attach it, carbonize it, put the mix in, shake it, serve.  It seriously takes maybe 30 seconds!  I have to admit, the first time you are using a new carbonized bottle though, it may take a few presses on the button to get it flowing.  Once it did start coming out (about 4-5 presses later) it scared the living crap out of me because I had my ear right up to the machine waiting to hear the hiss....I figured it would be a small's not haha....jokes on me!!!

An amazing amount of mixes that Soda Stream offers

Even naturally flavored things, or just regular sodas!

What a sample pack  loos like and the sizes of the sample pack mixers

They even offer water flavorings!

So, Soda Stream doesn't only provide soda mixes.  You can find almost EVERYTHING you could ever imagine!  Soda, naturally flavored soda, sparkling water, anything!

Comparing Diet Cola mix from Soda Stream to Diet Coke

Comparing Energy Drink mix from Soda Stream to Rockstar Energy Drinks

Anyways...I decided to try the two flavors that these parents can not live without first, Diet Cola and Energy drinks!  I decided to take out a bottle of Diet Coke (mmm, my fav) and a Rockstar Energy Drink (mmmm, so good again!).  I decided to compare the two.  And let me tell you, the Diet Cola from Soda Stream tasted EXACTLY like the Diet Coke!!!  And even better, the Energy drink tasted JUST like the Rockstar!!!  You seriously can NOT tell the difference!

So, what can be better than a machine that saves you money, is eco-friendly, is fast and easy to use, and taste just like the leading brands?  I don't know...I can't find anything else to possibly compare this machine to!  It is just wonderful!

Now, thanks to the wonderful people at Soda Stream, you also have a chance to win!!!  Here is what you can win:

Giveaway package is a Fountain Jet Soda Lover's Start-Up Kit  ($99.95) includes:

-          Fountain Jet – winner’s choice of color (black/silver, red/silver or white)
-          1 carbonating bottle, reusable for up to 3 years
-          Reusable carbonator to fizz up to 60L of soda
-          Variety 6-pack of popular sample-size flavors
-          3 full-sized flavors of the winner’s choice

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 9, 2012

T-Mobile is Possibly the Most Versatile Network Carrier

Smart phones are just too expensive and depreciate too fast to be bought SIM free. In my opinion, it is best to get it from a postpaid network carrier. You are getting a free phone together with a great service subscription. Though I acknowledge postpaid subscriptions to be somewhat more expensive than prepaid networks, I think the service and data speed (which is very important for smart phones) difference is worth it. If you agree with me, then you also know that postpaid carriers also have characteristics of their own and that the choice is not yet over. Through the process of choosing a network carrier, I find myself inclined to choose T-Mobile for the following reasons.

 Lowest rates among postpaid networks
T-Mobile has rates that are lower than that of any of the big three networks, namely Verizon, AT&T and Sprint. Even in terms of unlimited data and call plans, T-Mobile is able to top Sprint in terms of affordability as it is $10 cheaper. And although it does not have truly unlimited plans, its high speed data limit often enough, save if you are into streaming which requires up to 5 GB of high speed data.

Adjustable High Speed Data Provision
As mentioned, T-Mobile does not deny that your high speed data usage has a limit and you may be throttled when this is exceeded. However, this can be adjusted. So when you are feeling like going high speed, you can always pay for a month's worth of high speed data in addition to the unlimited rate.

Affordable Phones
With T-Mobile, you can get affordable phones, just like other postpaid plans'. However, I find T-Mobile's more affordable and providing even mid-end phones for free with the use of T-Mobile promotion code.

Like WirelessCouponHaven.Com on Facebook:

Google Plus:

*This is a sponsored post written up by the sponsor*

Zoey's Personalized Gifts Review and Giveaway

Today’s giveaway is from an awesome company, Zoey’sPersonalized Gifts!  For this review/giveaway I was given the choice of which shirt I wanted and I chose this adorable “mom-to-bee” shirt:

Not only is this shirt absolutely freaking adorable, but it’s so super soft and fits perfectly!  I wore this shirt to my checkup last week and I must have received at least 10 compliments.
Zoey’s Personalized Gifts has a variety of products for expecting mothers, including items that include all family members.  We wanted a unique way to tell our family we were expecting, and by having lots of different options for different family members, Zoey’s Personalized Gifts makes this possible.

Not only were they incredibly nice to send me such a cute shirt for my pregnancy, they are offering up a $35 gift card to one of our lucky readers!

*This review was written by Katy*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, July 5, 2012

Hate Cake Review and Giveaway

Have you been searching for that awesome creative shirt that no one else has?  Do you like to be trendy and have something that you can call your own?  Well, let me introduce you to someone who can help you.  Hate Cake on Etsy has some of the most amazing shirts I have ever seen.  Ashley, the owner and artist behind Hate Cakes, is amazing.  She paints shirts to give them their own custom look.  Here is the one that I chose for the review:

I have to admit, that it looks even BETTER in person then it did on Etsy.  And I loved it on Etsy!!!  Anyways, make sure you look up her sizing charts.  The place that she gets her shirts from, the women's run a little small as she informed me.  Thank goodness or else I might have been falling all out of my shirt haha.  Anyways, I decided to get a male tee-shirt so that I can hide my still baby fat...yup, I think I can still call it that haha!

So, besides hiding baby fat, this shirt is still awesome.  I have gotten so many compliments on it!  Well, what can I say, it's not a shirt you buy at WalMart where you are running into 50 people with the same shirt on (how annoying is that anyways!?!?!  Drives me nuts!).  Not only that, just the fact that it is painted and absolutely stunning is just....for lack of words haha...AWESOME!  I can barely paint a straight line!!!

Also, I love my shirt so much that I am BANNING you from getting this shirt if you win the giveaway!  Lol, well, I can't really do that...but MY SHIRT!  LOL.

*This review was written by Nicki*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 2, 2012

Melissa Makes Review and Giveaway

Today I am going to tell you about a mama pad that I got for a review from Melissa Makes!

Melissa Makes carries some pretty amazing mama pads.  I have to say!  They have all of the basic "Nicki loves" features.  First of all, it can fold up into itself...which is a must for me because I am going going going going all the time...see, my fingers couldn't even stop from typing going a few extra times lol.  Anyways, not only that, it has some amazing absorbency.  I tested this mama pad during the day.  During the day I usually go about 1-3 hours in between changes.  So, I left this one on for three to see how it worked.  And it held up to my test awesomely.  I had no leaks or problems with it!

Not only are those things great, but it was also soft and easy to wear.  I love mama pads that make you be able to basically forget that you are even on your cycle.  That always makes life a lot easier!  These mama pads definitely help with my illusion!

And, thanks the the amazing Melissa, you also have your chance to win your very own Melissa Makes mama pad!!!

*This review was written by Nicki*

a Rafflecopter giveaway