Sunday, November 3, 2013

My Tried and True Cloth Diaper Washing Routine

This post isn't pretty because I am tired and don't feel like all the picture adding and editing tonight, but it's full of excellent info on the ever elusive perfect washing routine.  I have lived in places with hard water, soft water, and weird water that is soft one day hard the next.  I have washed every kind of diaper from flats to prefolds to pockets to all in ones.  After a year of trial and error I found my perfect wash routine that has been with me through four different detergents, three different houses, and my go at cloth diapering my daycare kiddos.  I'll start with the basics of removing "dirt" from cloth.

There are three ways an item can be cleaned:
 1.  Thermal Energy, or in other words HEAT.  Warmer water enables the detergent you use to react with the water quicker and more fully in order to remove the most foreign matter.  This is why I do a warm rinse in the beginning, and use a hot wash with my detergent.
2.  Kinetic Energy, meaning the rubbing action you get when the diapers are agitated in the water and rub against one another.  The rubbing helps to loosen any debris and the water washes it away. It is important to have enough diapers in the wash that they are sufficiently agitating against each other.  If they are floating around in the water, there is nothing to scrub that poop off.  Or, conversely if they are so cram packed into the washer they wad up into a big ball, there isn't enough rubbing to get them clean.
3.  Chemical Reaction, as in the detergent you use and the amount you use for each load.  It attracts the debris out of the cloth and into the water to be washed away.

The most effective wash routine combines all three methods for the cleaning trifecta.  My routine looks like this:
I store wet and dirty diapers in a hanging wet bag until I get enough to run a load (usually 3 days.)

I use fleece liners for solids-eaters, and just flick the poop into the toliet, I do no rinsing of any kind.

On wash day I unzip the wetbag and dump the diapers into the washer, along with the wetbag.  I do not unstuff pockets, they come out in the wash (if you stuff with prefolds though you will need to unstuff them.)  I have trained myself to automatically do up the laundry tabs on aplix diapers when I take them off of baby, before they go in the wet bag.

After I get all the diapers into the washer, I run a warm rinse.  Stains are best removed at the temperature in which they occurred, so warm water works best for rinsing diapers.  I do a warm rinse first to remove any urine or large debris so that the detergent can really do its job.  Also, if the fibers are really thoroughly soaked, they accept the detergent better than if they are getting wet while the detergent is dissolving.

After the warm rinse I add my detergent and do a hot wash.  I have used several, and honestly all of the cloth diaper friendly ones are about the same, I use whatever I can find for cheap.  Charlies, Rockin Green, EcoSprout, and Ruby Moon to name a few have been pretty good.  For hard water I use a tad more than recommended, for soft I use the amount they recommend on the package.

*A note here on Tide.  Tide was cloth diaper heaven for me.  It gave me the fluffiest, whitest, most fresh smelling diapers ever.  HOWEVER after using it for a year, my elastics pretty much turned to DUST.  When I switched to Ecosprout from Tide, I had to continuously rinse my diapers for 3 days to get the Tide out.  We're talking about 30 rinses total people.  If you are looking for longevity from your diapers, I cannot recommend Tide, but if you just want pretty diapers and don't care how long they last go right ahead, to each her own.*

Ok, so if you have hard water you're done after the hot wash with detergent.  Extra rinses do not benefit you if you have hard water, as the water is your enemy with hard water.  If you have soft water, go ahead and rinse on warm at the end if you like.  Warm water helps remove more soap particles because the heat causes a better reaction.  Cold water will appear to work because there are no suds, but really there are no suds just because the cold water is preventing the detergent reaction and leaving the spare detergent particles in the fibers of the diapers.  (Ever try to dissolve sugar in cold water vs hot water?)

After the wash is done, I lay my covers and pockets on the drying rack and put everything else, including all in ones into the dryer on medium heat for 45 minutes.  This fluffs the all in ones, but doesn't dry them completely.  After the 45 minutes, I take anything with PUL out and hang it to finish drying.  This cuts down on your drying time for the thick diapers and makes them softer, but isn't so hard on the PUL.  For the other stuff (inserts, prefolds, flats, etc.)  I turn the dryer to the hottest setting and dry them for about 45 more minutes.  The hotter the dryer the quilt-ier your prefolds.  Those pretty wavy cushy prefolds come from hot water and hot dryers, and all those little waves suck up more moisture and make your prefolds extra absorbent.

Stay away from vinegar, dawn, calgon, RLR, ketchup, etc unless you truly determine the exact cause of any issues you're experiencing.  Dumping a bunch of stuff into your washer randomly, in my experience, typically just makes things worse.  Don't obsess over it, in the end, diapers are just pieces of fabric that our babies poop and pee on.  Although it is difficult to remember that when you have your eye on that custom hard to find one of a kind piece of fabric.

Friday, November 1, 2013

November is Here!

I can't believe November is already here y'all!  Today I want to say I am so thankful for the opportunity to stay home with my babies and be able to pursue this blog, and a new business I am working on behind the scenes.  Jason is so good to me to give me this.  He's such a great Daddy!
(sorry for the weird crazy lighting, Jason had a red case on his phone that caused a red halo in pics)

Life has been crazy lately, but it's winding down and I want to commit more time to this blog.  Let's get some comments going, they motivate me and let me know someone out there in www land is reading.  I want to amp up the posts and the giveaways but I can't do that without your help!  You have to tell me what you want to see, what giveaways YOU want, and I'll go after them.  I have a giveaway coming up this week for a really cute wetbag, and after that the slate is clean, so comment and tell me what you want to win.

ALSO a big announcement from Nicki this week!!!

Congratulations woman!!  Nicki has also said she will occasionally be doing guest posts here, as she recently got picked to be a Baby Kicks ambassador!  Maybe we can talk her into doing some pregnancy blogs every now and then too wink wink ;)

Friday, October 4, 2013

Zookaboo One Size Cover Review and Coupon Code

Michele Zook at Zookaboo sent me this great chevron print cover to review:

 I love the colors on this cover, they are bright and beautiful, and gender neutral.  Chevron is hot right now too.  It has rise snaps, crossover snaps, fold over elastic, and no exposed PUL on the inside. 
The cut of this diaper is fabulous for prefolds.  Some covers just can't get the coverage we need, but this one performs great.  The snaps are strong and the elastic has a great gentle stretch that contains poo nicely (she tested it out on the first go around LOL)

This photo shows the four rise options and the interior, which is a white PUL (the cloth side.)

This cover fit great!  It hugged her thighs perfectly, and is very trim and flexible.  She thoroughly tested the poop containing capacity, and we had absolutely no leaks whatsoever. 

Isn't it so bright and pretty?

Michelle is generously offering BBB readers 15% off at her website, zookaboo, with the coupon code BBB15, but hurry it's only valid for 30 days! Also check her out on facebook.

Don't forget we still have an amazon gift card giveaway going on on the facebook page!

*I received this item for free in exchange for my honest opinion*

Thursday, October 3, 2013

Bum Bum Fluff Review and *GIVEAWAY*

I had the awesome opportunity to review an adorable all in one one size diaper from Jessica at Bum Bum Fluff.  Is this not the cutest print?
It has aplix crossover tabs which are awesome because they can be crossed over to the left or to the right.  The aplix itself is very soft and pliable, not scratchy at all. It also has different rise settings for different size options.  The PUL is very good quality and the snaps seem heavy duty, not the thin crappy ones you sometimes see on WAHM diapers.  

The cut of this diaper is very nice, Its sort of narrow in the crotch, and that's a great thing for babies, so it doesn't impact mobility.  The legs have a great cut that covers just enough but not too much.
The best thing about the inside of this diaper is there is no exposed PUL, you get the nice soft cloth side of the PUL inside as well as outside.
The inner of this diaper is great!  It stood up to nap time with absolutely no leaks.   It is soft and squishy and thick in just the right places.  I only washed once to prep and it performed great, which will only get better with more washes I can imagine.

Here are the thighs in all their glory ;)  This diaper had no problems accommodating Miss Hannah.  I love how trim it is on the sides while still holding up to a few hours of my super soaker.

The elastic in the legs is gentle but snug enough to keep everything contained.

Here you can see that it is fairly trim and looks adorable on the bottom.  The only thing I would change about this diaper would be to add laundry tabs for the aplix.  I solved that issue by attaching the tabs to the front and flipping it inside out to wash, but laundry tabs would probably make washing easier.  

Jessica has offered readers of the blog 10% off in her Etsy shop Bum Bum Fluff, and is hosting an awesome giveaway of one of her fabulous diapers on her  Bum Bum Fluff Facebook Page.  Also don't forget to like and share Beth's Baby Blurbs on facebook to enter my Amazon Gift Card giveaway :)

*I received this diaper for free in exchange for my honest opinion*

Monday, September 16, 2013

Sudzy Bums Baby Bummy Stick Review and Coupon Code

Sorry it's been a while, we spent last week at the beach and I spent my time relaxing and playing with the kids instead of on the computer.  We had a blast!  So, back to the blog... 

Sudzy Bums sent me their awesome Baby Bummy Stick Diaper Ointment to review.  It is petroleum free, chemical free, vegan, and cloth diaper safe.  The ingredients listed are:  candelilla wax, shea butter, olive oil, meadowfoam oil, aloe, infused calendula leaves, infused comfrey leaves, and a proprietary blend of essential oils.  It retails in her shop for $8, or you can buy from her facebook page here.

First off, this is a GREAT size for the price, many other diaper sticks are more expensive (one popular brand stick was selling for $12 for 2 oz at the time of this review.) This stick would last a very long time.  The packaging is very convenient for diaper changes, or you could have one stick for diaper changes and one for everything else (scrapes, dry skin, bug bites, etc.)  The scent is amazing, it has a light citus-y natural scent.

It has a smooth buttery texture, that melts into your skin easily.  You could even scrape off a bit with your fingers to apply that way if you don't like the idea of rubbing a stick on multiple places.  First I tried it as a barrier during diaper changes, it made cleaning messes off of her bottom SOOO much easier, and it lasted through a couple changes.  I also used some on some pesky dry skin she gets on her scalp.  I applied it before bed, after her bath, and the next morning there was no dry skin in sight.  It didn't leave her feeling greasy either.  I love this stick, and I will defintely be buying more.  She also has some baby wipe solution, and diaper pail deoderizer disks I can't wait to try out.  Sudzy Bums also makes custom soaps that are adorable so check her out, and mention this blog post for 10% off your order, but hurry, offer only good till 9/21/13!

*I received this product for free in exchange for my honest opinion*

Friday, September 6, 2013

Children's Book "Candy and the Cankersaur" Review

Candy and the Cankersaur, by Jason Sandberg, is a cute book about a young girl's new pet.  It's a great read-aloud book for ages 3-4, although it does have a few large words.  Its available on Amazon, ITunes, Nook and Kobo.

My son absolutely loved the illustrations.  I was a little grossed out by the title, I could only think of Canker SORE every time I read the dinosaurs name.  The gist of the story is that Candy's dad is busy and doesn't have time for her so he buys her outrageous toys, the dinosaur being one of those.  The boy next door is jealous and tries to get even with her.

Overall it was a decent read and my son liked it!  It held his attention for the length of the story, which is not always easy, and he did ask to read it once more after that.
You can visit here to purchase it.

*I received this book for free in exchange for my honest opinion. *

Monday, September 2, 2013

Bumgenius Newborn All In One Review

The Bumgenius Newborn All in One is a very popular newborn diapering option.  With the aplix and no inserts to worry about, it's just as simple as a disposable diaper and is a great option for Grandparents, sitters, and non-cloth savvy Dad's.
The Bumgenius Newborn costs $12.95 and is described as fitting from 6-12 lbs, and having a super absorbent microfiber core. The aplix is very sticky and works well, although it did leave scratchy red marks on my daughters upper thighs a lot.  The tabs on all my diapers got pretty pill-y in just a few washes.

In the center of the back of the diaper is a laundry tab to use to keep the tabs from sticking to every thing else.  If you have a newborn you know how runny breastfed baby poop is.  This tab is in a very messy location, and I frequently had issues with sticking the aplix tabs to a poopy laundry tab.  It did still come clean in the wash but it bugged me.  Also the laundry tab on all 16 of my diapers discolored to this off-white color.  Not really a functionality issue but I am picky about stains and such.

  The above photo is of my daughter (about 11.5 lbs) wearing it.  The colors are bright and pretty.  The aplix is nice because you can get a custom fit, but something about the cut of the diaper makes it difficult to get a good fit if your baby has chubby thighs.  If I got the thighs right, the waist was too loose, if I got the waist right the thighs were way too tight.
These diapers are almost as trim as disposables under clothes, although I think this leads to the biggest drawback of this diaper.  The super thin microfiber padding simply does not absorb anything.  My daughter leaked out of this diaper more times than I can count.
This is one of the few diapers that truly does fit the age range its supposed to, however chunky legs may be an issue.  For newborns, its easy to fold the top seam down as seen in the above photo, for the cord stump.  This is a good option if you need quick and convenient, but be prepared to change this diaper every 30 minutes.  My girl is a heavy wetter and this did not work for us at all for containing pee, although it never leaked poop. I would not recommend this for moms who want a stash that last through multiple kids, as mine showed wear after just a few washes.  

*I bought these diapers with my own money and was in no way compensated for this review*
*If you'd like me to review a product for you, send me an email to*

Friday, August 30, 2013

Planetwise Wet Bag Review

For the next couple weeks I will be posting a review a day about my favorite (and not so favorite)  newborn cloth diapering items.   I have an 11 week old daughter, Hannah, who is a heavy wetter with big chunky thighs.  She was born at 8 lb 15 oz and 20 inches long, so she's my little chunk :)  Here is a pic of her in her first ever cloth diaper:

She was two days old and about 8 lb 10 oz in that photo.  She has on a Bitty Bee (more about them  in a later post).  For today I thought I'd review the one item I use at every single diaper change, my Planet Wise Wet Bags.  

I have a size Medium and a size Large. I threw the hotwheels car in there so hopefully give you an idea of their size.  The one on the left is the large, and the medium is on the right.  I LOVE the bright prints on these diapers, and they show no wear even after daily washing.  The zippers on them are smooth and durable, and the PUL inside is awesome.  The inside of the bags agitates out in the wash so you can be sure they're getting clean.  I've had no issues with leaks even with sopping wet prefolds.  

This is the large. In this photo I have about 10 newborn all in ones, 5-6 prefolds, 2 covers, and a few wipes in there and could probably fit more.  I love that it's a square shape instead of a big long rectangle, because this makes it easier to wash and no diapers get trapped in the bottom.   I love that the large has a strap to hang it by.  I especially love that you can un-snap the strap and hang it on things like a towel bar that wouldn't let you loop something around it.  The snap is a diaper type plastic snap.

This is the medium size.  Its a perfect size for the diaper bag.  It holds about 10 newborn diapers or about 6-7 one size diapers, perfect for a day out.   It folds up small when empty, and is so pretty that you can carry it outside your diaper bag once it's full.  The only drawback to this one is that there is no carrying handle, but that's pretty minor when you consider the excellent leak protection. 

What's your favorite way to store dirties?  Do you use a wet bag, pail, bucket, or something else?  

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Hi, Im new here...

Hey Everyone!!!  I am sure you noticed the new look around here :)  My name is Beth, and and my good friend Nicki let me take over the blog.  She (Nicki The Eval Gal) has a lot on her plate right now with her charity Bears for Angel Babies, and her Etsy business Crazy Leggies.

Like I said, my name is Beth.  I am a 25 year old stay at home mama to two beautiful babies.  My son, Nathan is 4 years old, and my daughter, Hannah, is 11 weeks old.   I love all things to do with parenting (cloth diapers, babywearing, car seat safety, healthy food, different styles of parenting, etc.)  I hope to offer reviews, giveaways, tutorials and recipes here that you all will enjoy.

Stay tuned for lots of exciting changes coming your way :)  In the meantime,let me know in the comments things you would like to see from the blog.  Thanks!!!

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Little Beasties Review and Giveaway

First of all, I would like to start off by thanking Julianna from Little Beasties for being so patient with me while it took me a while to get this review and giveaway up.

This is the pocket diaper that that I got for the review.  And I have to say, how hilarious is this!!!  Caution hehehehe.  This diaper is an embroidered diaper with a hidden layer of PUL so that the PUL is never touching your child's skin.  I really like this.  My youngest, the one in diapers, is not as sensitive as my older son (he used to get horrible rashes on his legs from the PUL), I still would rather that not touch his skin if possible.

In the inside of this diaper you can see that there are inner gussets.  To me, inner gussets are probably one of the best options there are out there for cloth diapers.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE inner gussets due to the fact that they really hold up against all the messies that come with diapering!  

I am also LOVING this insert.  I love the snap down option available on the insert.  I believe this makes for a much better insert and a MUCH better fit.  It makes the diaper less bulky as well.  This insert is three layers of microfiber with flannel on the outside.  With the flannel on the outside, it would be okay to also use against your child's skin as an AI2 if you would rather!

As you can see from this picture, my son had the chunky thighs like WOAH!  It is so nice when I find a diaper that hugs those legs perfectly and this one does it and had never left a red mark yet!

As for absorbency and leakage, this diaper takes the cake as well.  I was able to leave this diaper on for nape time with no leaks.  Now, if I wanted to use it for longer than nap time, I would probably have to add an insert to the insert that it comes with, but my son is also a super soaker at night.  

All in all, I believe this diaper may be one of my favorites yet!  Not only that, I can't WAIT to have the money to go shopping and add this one to my collection as well:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, May 4, 2013

Bears for Angel Babies

Hello everyone and sorry it has been so long since I have written. But today, I just have to tell you about what is going on and how I could really use your help!

I decided to tell you about this by giving you a little about me and my situation first. I recently lost twins. I lost the first one on 4/27/13. After I lost that baby, I immediately had a sonogram. I will never forget the hope that day brought me because what I found out that day was that I was having twins. I saw my second baby and his/her heartbeat! It was a wonderful 120 beats per minute and the baby was measuring great. Even my midwife was filled with hope. Two days later, the contractions started and on 4/29/13 my second baby was born to heaven. I was devastated. I didn't know what to do with myself, I didn't know how I was going to continue living knowing that my body turned me down that hard until I joined a support group on Facebook. I realized something then, when you have a full term, healthy baby there is one thing you always get and that is a special present from your loved ones. They all bring you and/or the baby something. A balloon, flowers, and bears. Well, when you loose your babies, you are brought nothing. You are left with not even a baby to hold. You are only left with a positive pregnancy test and sometimes a sonogram. The one thing you get is, “I am so sorry.” I needed to change that.

And so, with that said, Bears for Angel Babies was born! Bears for Angel Babies is a new charity that is dedicated to giving as many Angel Babies the gift they didn't get when they were born to heaven, a handmade bear free of charge. I opened the Facebook page on 5/1/13 and gained about 80 likers and 26 heart filled requests for bears in the matter of hours! And since then, me and my fellow crocheters have sent out a total of 11 bears already but the orders keep coming! I was so excited, but now I am just overwhelmed too. I could really use some extra support. I am hoping to bring in more crocheters that are open to help make some bears. I also really need more monetary support to be able to keep this page going. Other things that could really be helpful are yarn, patterns, and even coupons. I am hoping that as the page grows there will be more and more help, but right now I am asking you to help make a difference. You can donate to Bears for Angel Babies by sending a donation by clicking on this link: If you would like to crochet, donate yarn, or donate coupons you can email me at to get directions or a mailing address.
I want to thank each and every one of you for reading this and at least giving Bears for Angel Babies a thought for a wonderful charity to donate to. If you would like to see the good will being done or would just like more information, you can check us out on Facebook at Thank you again!
I also want to give a shout out to some lovely women who helped me right from the beginning. Special thanks and a special place in my heart to: Stacy Krumel-Rhoads, Jennifer Forsberg, Bethany Wallen, Crystal Fink, Savanah Songer, Lori Luh, Carolyn Strough, Donna Neubeck, Sumi Funayama, Chelsea Ayers, Abby Haritos, Jeanette Burnett, Trel Welker and Sarah Fisher. You all are amazing ladies and thank you so much for helping make the bears, donating when you can, and being an amazing support!

Monday, March 11, 2013

Edward Medina-Author

Today I have a sneak peak at an amazing new book coming out called The Demise of Foxy Jack by the wonderful author Edward Medina.

Edward Medina is one of my favorite authors right now.  He has two books out right now called

It Is Said (Mathias Bootmaker and the Keepers of the Sandbox) and A Murder of Crows (Adventures of the X Pirates)

Both of these books had me hooked so bad!  A Murder of Crows was my favorite out of the two.  It was like a Narnia meets dark and mysterious!  It is a novella that consists of approximately 35 pages which is a GREAT short read! 

"Warren Bronck had had enough, so he took a rowboat out to sea and found himself an unpopulated island. He had grown tired of all the jibber jabber, falderal, and twaddle of the populous at large. All he wanted was a place to fish that was all his own. All he wanted was some peace and quiet.
Everyone knows that pelicans are natural fishers of the seas. Everyone knows that they are jovial, even tempered, celebratory creatures. Warren Bronck was a pelican but he was none of those other things. If you encountered him in the morning he was usually grumpy. By evening he was usually using a great deal of salty language.
Other than his temperament Warren was a striking figure of a pelican. He was tall, big chested, and had a deep rich voice. To most he seemed distinguished and charming. In truth he was such a master of the obvious and ironic that no one could tell when he was deriding them. What Warren thought was a painful verbal barb others took to be funny, wise, and sometimes sage advice from an elder.
The proud pelican’s pronouncements weren’t always confused and misunderstood. In the beginning he laughed with his mates and everyone was in on the joke. A sarcastic taunt from Warren was accepted as a badge of honor and everyone would roar with laughter. Inherit a nickname from the bird and it was yours for life. If today was the day for you to be the specific target of a majority of his taunts and teasings, you accepted it, and by day’s end you relished in it.
Then one day Warren changed.
Everyone knew the day it happened. Everyone knew that day would have a profound effect on their friend and colleague. Everyone deals with days like that in their own way. Warren dealt with it by changing into something he really wasn’t. Everyone else dealt with it by believing that nothing, not even Warren, had changed. But everything had changed and that change was most profound in the life of Warren Bronck."

Here is what Edward Medina has to say about this upcoming book: "The Demise of Foxy Jack is the tale of three islands.
One is the home of those who fish the seas for their keep. The second is the hidden home of a famous ghost ship and her cutthroat crew. The third is a fortress built seventy miles offshore from the southernmost point of the Empire.
One is where you’ll find a hero in the making, on the run from a tainted past and a broken heart. The second is where you’ll find a villain with death and destruction on his mind. The third holds a young and angry Queen along with her military advisors and a plan of annihilation.
The Demise of Foxy Jack is the first novella in the Adventures of the X Pirates series. Readers have made A Murder of Crows, the prolog to these tales, an Amazon top ten bestseller in both the fantasy and action adventure categories.
This next installment will tell us how Foxy Jack became a reluctant leader, what horrors mad Captain Nightthorn has unleashed, and the revenge Queen Anastasia has planned to answer his deadly mischief. There’s a travelling troupe of actors, a gang of clever grifters, a sect of stealthy spies, and we’ll learn what happens when Karma, Fate and Destiny join these dark pirate rogueries.
The Demise of Foxy Jack returns you to a world full of epic fantasy and steampunk adventure, where nothing is what it seems and everything is suspect. A world where both heroes and villains have a tortured past and every twist and turn tests their resolve. This is the story of three islands, the characters that are in residence there, and the dreams and nightmares that drive them.
The voyage begins in earnest in March 2013."

I don't know about you, but I am super excited about this!!!  Medina's books always take me on such a journey that I can't put them down.  I could really use this for a nice book to read on the beach while on vacation!  But, if it is not out by then, I will have to settle for re-reading his other two books (even though that is not settling much hehe).

If you would like to learn more about Medina, you can visit his Facebook page or his blog website.   Once the book comes out I will also be posting a review here for all of you!  I am so excited!

*I was in no way compensated for this post.  All words are my own true opinions besides the quoted words of Edward Medina*

Monday, February 4, 2013

It's a Wonderful Life

So, I decided to post up about a few things....mostly updates.

So, it's that time of year....this time last year we were in the hospital with my youngest son Daniel and were being given bad news after bad news.  This time last year, we thought our son wasn't going to live to see 6 months.  Well guess what...I am here to tell you that my son is JUST fine! :-)

Obviously, you all know that he is still around because of the pictures of him in reviews and such.  However, some of you might not know just how wonderful he is doing.  Not only is he doing good, but he is GREAT!  He is a lot smaller than other children of his age (he is still in 9-12 month clothes at 15 months) but I am not worried about that.  His breathing is SO much better and everything!  I am so proud of my little baby boy!

As for Lucas, he has been improving so much!!!!  He has at least 100 words now!  Looks like school was just right for him :-)  I was hesitant about sending him at three, but he is improving so much it is ridiculous!

So, basically, I am here to tell you how much a year can change things!  If you look back at posts from about this time last year you will know that I was completely beside myself.  I didn't know what to do or where to go from where we were.  I was in depression mode for sure.

Gosh!  I LOVE time!  Just the fact that it keeps going to bring you even better things down the road! :-)

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Little Comforts Review and Giveaway

Today I am going to review a Little Comforts One Size Bambee Fitted Diaper.

This OS fitted diaper is made with bamboo and lined with bamboo fleece.  This diaper comes in two convenient sizes (size 1 and size 2).

The first think I noticed about this diaper is that it is SUPER soft!  I love how soft bamboo fleece is!  Also, I love how absorbent bamboo is, so this seems to be the perfect diaper for me, but how about the perfect diaper for my son?

Well, my son is a VERY heavy wetter overnight and we have a very difficult time being able to get a diaper to work overnight for him.  We have recently started using crochet wool covers over a fitted diaper.  This works most of the time, but not all fitted diapers are made equally.  You need to find one with the right absorbency for your child.  Well, this amazing bamboo fitted diaper by Little Comforts seems to be just the right absorbency for my son!  With two extra boosters, it gives you an amazing overnight absorbency waking up to NO wet sheets!  It was perfect.

Then, for day time, I can just unsnap the boosters and it still works amazingly.   I LOVE this fitted diaper because of it's amazing ability to be used at any time during the day.  I use it without boosters during the day, with one booster for nap, and with both boosters for night.  I have YET to have a leak with this diaper.  Not only that, it seems to stay soft!  I have now washed it at least 15 times and it is still nice and soft.

Also, this diaper has an amazing fit!  It is not bulky at all, which is usually a problem with fitted diapers.  I am so happy to have found Little Comfort Babee Fitted Diapers!  This is definitely a diaper that should be in every stash for any time use!

Green Team Enterprises Distribution is the exclusive USA Distributor of Little Comfort products.  To purchase the Little Comfort Bambee OS Diaper or other Little Comfort Products, you will need to locate a Little Comfort retailer here:

*This review was written by Nicki*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

PBS Dinosaur Train Press Release

Everyone’s favorite Pteranodon family rides the DINOSAUR TRAIN Submarine to meet sea creature friends in an all-new science special airing February 18 on PBS KIDS and available on DVD February 19, 2013

ARLINGTON, VA, January 28, 2013 – On February 18, PBS KIDS will premiere an all-new special from The Jim Henson Company’s hit series DINOSAUR TRAIN. Everyone’s favorite Pteranodon family will dive into an underwater adventure in “Submarine Adventure.” The one-hour program will feature four new stories about sea creatures that lived during the “Age of Dinosaurs.” Preschoolers will meet new friends along the way – from Otto Ophthalmosaurus to Archelon turtles – as they learn about natural science, natural history and paleontology. As part of this multiplatform event, DINOSAUR TRAIN will also feature new content online and on mobile this February. The special will also be available on DVD starting February 19.

“PBS KIDS strives to use media to light a spark – a thirst for learning that will empower kids to actively pursue their interests long after the screen is turned off,” said Lesli Rotenberg, General Manager, Children’s Programming, PBS. “DINOSAUR TRAIN leads kids on this path of exploration with content that is fun and educational, like the ‘Submarine Adventure’ special, which will engage kids in learning natural science and paleontology concepts, while also inspiring them to embark on their own learning adventures in the world around them.” 

On-air Special Program Descriptions:
“Otto Ophthalmosaurus”
When the Pteranodon family takes the Dinosaur Train under the sea to visit their friend Elmer Elasmosaurus, they learn that the Elasmosaurus family is leaving the station to follow their food – the fish. Buddy wants to follow, but the train tunnel doesn't go that way – so Mr. Conductor decides to take the family in a brand-new invention, the Dinosaur Train Submarine! On their journey, they meet a marine reptile called Otto Ophthalmosaurus, who guides the submarine deeper than it’s ever been, and even helps them find their way out of a sea cave.  

“Shoshana Shonisaurus”
The Pteranodon family goes under the sea again to ride the Dinosaur Train Submarine – this time they go to meet Shoshana Shonisaurus, an enormous marine reptile that’s something between a dolphin and a whale. Since Shoshana loves to dive very deep, Shiny has a problem with following her to the bottom of the sea. Shoshana kindly helps Shiny get over her fear of diving deep.  

“Maisie Mosasaurus”
The Pteranodon family goes back underwater in the Dinosaur Train Submarine and meets Maisie and Marvin Mosasaurus, a daughter and father who are huge, fast-swimming lizards with flippers. Maisie and Shiny bond when they discover neither likes to go deep in the water. The Pteranodons and Mosasaurus have a great time near the ocean’s surface, each family showing the other how they hunt and catch fish to eat.  

“A Sea Turtle Tale”
The Pteranodon family is on the beach watching small eggs hatch and baby Archelon turtles emerge and start to swim away.  The family and Mr. Conductor get into the Dinosaur Train Submarine and follow the baby Archelons, who discover their own facts of nature – that their mother doesn’t stay with them after they’re born and that they will grow up to be giant-sized sea turtles.  

Online and Mobile Content:
Both full episodes and clips from “Submarine Adventure” will be available on the PBS KIDS Video Player at and on the PBS KIDS Video App beginning February 19.

PBS Distribution will release DINOSAUR TRAIN “Submarine Adventure” on February 19, 2013. The DVD is available for preorder now on Details for the DVD follow:
Street Date: February 19, 2013
Genre: Kids
Run Time: Approximately 50 Minutes
SRP: $9.99
Format: DVD

Images and screeners of DINOSAUR TRAIN “Submarine Adventure” are available upon request or on PBS PressRoom.

From the renowned Jim Henson Company, the hit DINOSAUR TRAIN series encourages scientific thinking and other skills as it teaches children about natural science, natural history and paleontology. The series is part of PBS KIDS’ ongoing commitment to prepare kids for success in school and in life, with cross-platform content that supports learning in key areas such as science, math, and literacy.

PBS KIDS, the number one educational media brand for kids, offers all children the opportunity to explore new ideas and new worlds through television, online and community-based programs. For more information on specific PBS KIDS programs supporting literacy, science, math and more, visit Follow PBS KIDS on Twitter and Facebook.

About PBS Distribution
PBS Distribution is the leading media distributor for the public television community, both domestically and internationally. Jointly owned by PBS (Arlington, VA) and WGBH (Boston, MA), PBS Distribution extends the reach of public television programs beyond broadcast while generating revenue for the public television system and our production partners.  

PBS Distribution offers a diverse range of programming to our customers, including Ken Burns’s films (“Prohibition,” “The National Parks,” “The War,” “Baseball,” “Jazz”); documentaries from award-winning series NOVA (“The Elegant Universe,” “Origins”), FRONTLINE (“God in America,” “Bush’s War,” “Growing Up Online”) and AMERICAN EXPERIENCE (“Freedom Riders,” “We Shall Remain”); dramas from MASTERPIECE (“Downton Abbey,” “Jane Eyre,” “Inspector Lewis”); films from independent producers (“Easy Yoga for Arthritis,” “The Buddha,” “The Story of India,” “Carrier,” “Journey into Buddhism,” “I.O.U.S.A.”); and popular children’s programming from DINOSAUR TRAIN, SUPER WHY!, WORDGIRL, CYBERCHASE, MARTHA SPEAKS and ARTHUR. As a multi-channel distributor, PBS Distribution pursues wholesale/retail sales, consumer and educational sales through PBS-branded catalogs and online shops, and international broadcast and video sales. PBS Distribution is also a leader in offering programming through digital platforms, including the internet, mobile and web-connected television.

About The Jim Henson Company
The Jim Henson Company has remained an established leader in family entertainment for over 50 years and is recognized worldwide as an innovator in puppetry, animatronics and digital animation. Best known as creators of the world famous Muppets, Henson has received over 50 Emmy Awards and nine Grammy Awards. Recent credits include the Emmy® nominated SID THE SCIENCE KID, DINOSAUR TRAIN, WILSON & DITCH: DIGGING AMERICA and PAJANIMALS. Features include “The Dark Crystal,” “Labyrinth,” “MirrorMask” and “Unstable Fables”; television productions include “Fraggle Rock” and the sci-fi cult series “Farscape.”

With additional locations in New York and London, The Jim Henson Company is headquartered in Los Angeles on the historic Charlie Chaplin lot, complete with soundstage and post-production facilities. Independently owned and operated by the five adult children of founder Jim Henson, the Company is also home to Jim Henson’s Creature Shop™, a pre-eminent character-building and visual effects group with international film, television and advertising clients, as well as Henson Recording Studios, one of the music industry’s top recording facilities known for its world-class blend of state-of-the-art and vintage equipment. The Company’s Henson Alternative brand has recently announced the national tour of “Stuffed and Unstrung,” a live puppet improvisational show named one of the top 10 Best Stage Shows of 2010 by Entertainment Weekly. 

Maria Vera, PBS, 703-739-3225 /
Caitlin Melnick, 360 Public Relations, 617-585-5775 /

For PBS Distribution:
Jill Goldstein, JGoldsteinPR, 646-251-0908 /

Friday, January 18, 2013

Wild Kratts Lost at Sea Review

Today I want to tell you about Wild Kratts by PBS.  We got the lovely opportunity to be able to get this DVD at watch it before it even came on TV!

Wild Kratts is a unique science show.  To learn more about the show in general, please read the press release posted here.

This particular DVD is about dolphins and puffer fish.  The Wild Kratts first try to learn "dolphinize" with the dolphins.  They have a wonderful under sea adventure learning all about them!

The second part, the part about puffer fish, the Wild Kratts go on an adventure to learn about the life of the puffer fish.  The follow them to find out their feeding habits, how the defend themselves and much more!

The thing I love the most about this show is that it also shows people interacting with the animals in real life at the end of each segment.  I think it is awesome that my son can also see what the animals look like in real life and where they really live instead of only seeing the animals in cartoon form.

Lucas, my three year old, is just as obsessed with Wild Kratts as he is with Super Why (you can read my review on them here).  Actually, just as I am writing this, we were watching Super Why on PBS and then when it was over he brought me the Wild Kratts DVD to put on.  These are two of his favorite shows and can watch them all day long.

Now, I want to tell you something.  I never realized, before reviewing Super Why, the amazing stuff that PBS puts out for children.  I believe it is the most educational programming there is available to children right now.  Before we used to only watch Disney and Nick...but now we only watch PBS.  I am so happy we found them!

Wild Kratts Lost at Sea is set to premiere on Monday January 21st!  So remember to check your local listings so you can fall in love too!

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Greener Pastures Store Review and Giveaway

Today I am going to review the store Greener Pastures.  I am also going to tell you about a diaper and wipes solution that are available at her shop that was provided to me by Brenda, the owner.

First I am going to start with the wipes solution called  Naturally, Green and Clean.  The wipes solution was amazingly great smelling!  It was Gingerbread Cookie Scented!  I have to say that I am amazed with how perfect the smell was!  It smelled just like a gingerbread cookie.  Not only that, the cubes work fabulously!

Next, I would like to tell you just a little bit about the diaper she provided me with to review.  Brenda sent me an ADORABLE Bottombumpers AIO!  The one thing that I loved the most about this diaper was that the rise snaps are hidden inside the diaper under the soakers!!!!  This is GENIUS!  I have never seen anything like that before.  Not only that, the snaps are color coded!

This diaper is SUCH a pretty color as well! It is also a side snapping diaper.  I know, I have never really touched on side snapping diapers on here before and that was just because I was worried to even try them because I have such big boys.  But this diaper fits wonderfully! 

Not only that, this diaper really works great!  After I fully prepped it, I had absolutely no leaking issues!  I am sure this would also be a great night time solution for the normal pee-er...not the heavy one though :-)

Now to tell you more about Greener Pastures!  

Greener Pastures is an online cloth diaper shop that is local to my area.  She currently carriers Bottombumpers, RaR, SmartBottoms and a lot of other things as well!  Brenda decided to try to specialize in diapers made in the USA.  And who can argue with her about that!?!?  Diapers made in the USA are usually much better quality and they are providing jobs to people here that need them!  I am a big fan of this!

She also carries some WAHM stuff!  Which is yet another major plus to me.  In this day, it is VERY hard for WAHM businesses.  The fact that Brenda supports them even in her business makes me super happy!  It is hard to find cloth diaper shops that support WAHM's any more, which is sad.  Just a year or two ago, you could find WAHM stuff in TONS of cloth diaper shops.  

This shop is also probably the easiest shop ever to navigate!  You can find exactly what you would like in just a click or two!  I love sites that are easy to navigate because I am not too technically inclined (yeah, Katy designed the current blog layout hehe)

Brenda is also great at customer service!  She was probably one of the best cloth diaper store owners I have ever had the pleasure to work with.  Not only that, she shipped my items so that I could be treated like a normal out of state customer.  The items were sent out in just a day!  Because I was local, I got them the very next day!  It was awesome.  But seriously amazing that these products were sent out to me in just a day!  Usually it takes 2-5 days just to get it out in the mail!  

I would definitely recommend this cloth diaper shop to anyone.  If she carries what you would like, then I believe this is the cloth diaper shop for you!  

Current Specials for Greener Pastures:
Rumparooz Pocket Diapers (Aplix Closure)
$17.95 for Solids (Reg $23.95) &
$19.95 for Prints (Reg $25.95)
ALL Gen-Y Universal Covers 20% OFF
Drybees Hybrid AIO $14.95

And now you even have the chance to win a 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*This review was written by Nicki*